Compound
sodium ascorbate
A six carbon compound related to glucose. It is found naturally in citrus fruits and many vegetables. Ascorbic acid is an essential nutrient in human diets, and necessary to maintain connective tissue and bone. Its biologically active form, vitamin C, functions as a reducing agent and coenzyme in several metabolic pathways. Vitamin C is considered an antioxidant.
Studied for
1 endpoint, 1 finding, from 1 paper.
Structure
- Formula
- C6H7O6.Na
- Mass
- 198.106 g/mol
- Charge
- 0
- InChIKey
- PPASLZSBLFJQEF-RXSVEWSESA-M
- SMILES
- [H][C@]1([C@@H](O)CO)OC(=O)C(O)=C1[O-].[Na+]
- Look it up
- ChEBIBy InChIKey
Identity from ChEBI. Not evidence — none of it carries a grade.
What the evidence says
How to read these marks1 finding across 1 endpoint, from 1 paper, strongest first.
What moved
1 finding
Decreases interleukin-6 concentration
SpeculativeGrade F, Speculative. Mechanistic inference, or no evidence found.Finding“Sodium ascorbate slightly reduced the sepsis-induced increase in interleukin-6, returned VEGF-A to normal (both PGroupxTime<0.01), and increased plasma ascorbate (20 000 [300] μM; PGroup<0.001).”
Quoted verbatim from Reversal of cerebral ischaemia and hypoxia and of sickness behaviour by megadose sodium ascorbate in ovine Gram-negative sepsis.. - Study
- animal · not in humans
- Dose
- 0.5 g/kg IV over 30 min followed by 0.5 g/kg/h for 6.5 h
- Population
- unanaesthetised Merino ewes with Gram-negative (E. coli) sepsis, megadose sodium ascorbate IV arm
Reversal of cerebral ischaemia and hypoxia and of sickness behaviour by megadose sodium ascorbate in ovine Gram-negative sepsis.2024PMID:38960833
What the reference databases state
One step from sodium ascorbate in the reference databases: what it reacts with, is carried by, is converted to and takes part in.
Statements
1 statement
1 statement in 1 reference database name sodium ascorbate — ChEBI. Press a relation to see only its rows; every count is the rows behind it.
- sodium ascorbate is converted to L-ascorbic acidCompoundChEBI CHEBI:113451Inferred only
On the label
The dose a label declares, which is the one a person meets. A label is a manufacturer’s statement about a package and says nothing about what the product does.
Labelled products
1 product
1 product in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database list sodium ascorbate as an active ingredient. None states an amount per serving.
0 labels state an amount1 does not
- Cypress PharmaceuticalPrenatal-U Capsulesamount not statedper 1 Capsule(s)DSLD:282952
Each row links to its label record at the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, which is where the declaration lives. CC0.
Registered, and not reported
Trials on ClinicalTrials.gov that list sodium ascorbate as an intervention, reached completed, terminated or suspended, and posted no results. What they found is not known, and that is the point.
Trials without posted results
658 trials
658 registered trials without posted results. 99 passed an actual primary completion date more than a year ago, which is the reporting window FDAAA 801 sets. The list holds the most recent 120.
99 past the window21 within it, or no actual date
- NCT04756063suspended— Resourcesexpected 2031-03a university or hospital
- NCT06068543suspended— The study has been suspended by the IRB pending review of a study-related issueexpected 2030-01-01a university or hospital
- NCT07507344completed2026-07-20a university or hospital
- NCT07585422completed2026-07-02a university or hospital
- NCT07109115terminated— Insufficient funds and study personal to complete the trial when the primary grant holder and coordinator resigned from UVA.2026-07-01a university or hospital
- NCT06840574suspended— Change in sponsor priority.expected 2026-04-30industry
- NCT07675356completed2026-04-30a university or hospital
- NCT07369232completed2026-03-31a university or hospital
- NCT07715058completed2026-03-17industry
- NCT06790771completed2026-03-15a university or hospital
- NCT06847880completed2026-02-28a university or hospital
- NCT06439875completed2026-02-16a university or hospital
Show the remaining 646
- NCT07229131completed2026-02-13industry
- NCT07521423completed2026-02-01a university or hospital
- NCT07302828completed2026-01-16industry
- NCT07651098completed2026-01-15a university or hospital
- NCT07460934completed2025-12-31industry
- NCT04138394suspended— After the 1st interim analysis, on the recommendation of the DSMC, the steering committee decided to stop enrollment of new patients. The study is ongoing for the currently enrolled patients. More info to follow when available for public disclosure.2025-12-18a university or hospital
- NCT07513597completed2025-12-17industry
- NCT05345899completed2025-12-08a university or hospital
- NCT07644871completed2025-11-12industry
- NCT06971315completed2025-08-06a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07242066completed2025-08-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06788132completed2025-07-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06898840completed2025-07-09a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT02390505completed2025-07-07a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07267728completed2025-07-01industrypast the reporting window
- NCT07206329completed2025-06-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07506187completed2025-06-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06755892completed2025-06-17a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06949592completed2025-06-12industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06641349completed2025-06-04a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03136029completed2025-05-31US federal agencypast the reporting window
- NCT07569627completed2025-05-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05968209completed2025-04-15a government bodypast the reporting window
- NCT06869824completed2025-04-13industrypast the reporting window
- NCT07398885completed2025-04-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07061431completed2025-03-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07468175completed2025-03-13industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06241976completed2025-02-28a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07012564completed2025-02-15a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06875050completed2025-02-13a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06507111completed2025-02-05industrypast the reporting window
- NCT07501000completed2025-01-23industrypast the reporting window
- NCT04921189completed2024-12-10a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07141823completed2024-12-10a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05194189completed2024-12-04a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05770596completed2024-12-03a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06567405completed2024-12-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07071220completed2024-11-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07071233completed2024-11-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07083622completed2024-11-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05208879completed2024-11-07a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07043985completed2024-11-05a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05423249completed2024-11-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06916689completed2024-10-10a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05932732completed2024-10-09a research networkpast the reporting window
- NCT06471023completed2024-09-16industrypast the reporting window
- NCT03333668completed2024-09-06a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05989984completed2024-08-08industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06097871completed2024-07-24industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06174441completed2024-07-18a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06565312completed2024-07-10industrypast the reporting window
- NCT03602235completed2024-07-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05975125completed2024-06-27a government bodypast the reporting window
- NCT06343610completed2024-06-14a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07041866completed2024-06-10a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03228238terminated— The study was terminated early due to slow recruitment and the Principal Investigator's retirement.2024-06-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05842395completed2024-05-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07755566completed2024-05-30industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05668663completed2024-05-24a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03684213completed2024-05-15a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06345092completed2024-05-15a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05675007completed2024-05-02a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04842149completed2024-04-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07076108completed2024-04-28a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04598880completed2024-04-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05499598completed2024-04-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05328037completed2024-03-25industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05561257terminated— the necessary recruitment was no longer ensured and fundamental changes in the medical care of herpes zoster, which prevented the original research objectives and the feasibility of the study in the planned scope from being achieved2024-02-28industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06148740completed2024-02-28industrypast the reporting window
- NCT04334512completed2024-02-27a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03509662completed2024-02-15a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06125912completed2024-02-15industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06143033completed2024-02-15industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06096103completed2024-02-09a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05495243completed2024-02-01industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05826899completed2024-01-31industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06148662completed2024-01-25a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05879406completed2024-01-23a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05185024completed2024-01-15industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05104554completed2023-12-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06060834completed2023-12-14a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05514197completed2023-12-13a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03206710completed2023-12-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04046861completed2023-12-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05908825completed2023-11-16a research networkpast the reporting window
- NCT05726097completed2023-10-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04475744completed2023-10-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04751669completed2023-10-26a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05274568completed2023-10-25a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05682261completed2023-10-17a government bodypast the reporting window
- NCT02818283terminated— lack of recruitment and funding2023-10a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05900024completed2023-09-01industrypast the reporting window
- NCT04747795completed2023-08-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04938024completed2023-08-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06780345completed2023-08-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05928676completed2023-07-31industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05730517completed2023-07-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05745636completed2023-07-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05592951completed2023-07-14a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06402890completed2023-07-13a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03276481completed2023-07-12a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06556134completed2023-07-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05052515completed2023-06-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05266703completed2023-06-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05427279completed2023-06-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07060859completed2023-06-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04199624completed2023-06-07a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05775237completed2023-06-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
Papers screened
105 papers
105 papers screened for sodium ascorbate. 1 produced a finding, 91 were read and discarded, 13 have not been read yet. Each group opens to the papers in it.
The whole record lists every paper, the query that retrieved it and the date it was decided.
Produced a finding1 paper
- PMID:389608332026-09-18
Discarded: the wrong intervention55 papers
- PMID:33606344no claim extracted — reagent_not_exposure2026-09-18
- NCT00064753intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00325572intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00469209intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00491751intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00514618intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00778648intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00808470intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00860470intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00860743intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00953212intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
- NCT00974480intervention×1 — no declared intervention names sodium ascorbate2026-09-18
and 43 more.
Discarded: another reason, stated per paper28 papers
- PMID:29109820no claim extracted — cause not determined (one pass only) — measured: microtensile bond strength of composite resin to bleached dentin (dental materials endpoint; no outcome node exists for it)2026-09-18
- PMID:29628656no claim extracted — cause not determined (one pass only) — measured: pushout bond strength of a fiber post to radicular dentin (dental materials endpoint; no outcome node exists for it)2026-09-18
- NCT00184054design×1 — allocation NA -- not randomised2026-09-18
- NCT00626444design×1 — allocation NA -- not randomised2026-09-18
- NCT00661544design×1 — allocation NA -- not randomised2026-09-18
- NCT00845130design×1 — allocation NON_RANDOMIZED -- not randomised2026-09-18
- NCT00921934design×1 — studyType OBSERVATIONAL -- only INTERVENTIONAL is extracted2026-09-18
- NCT00995670design×1 — allocation NON_RANDOMIZED -- not randomised2026-09-18
- NCT01413360design×1 — allocation NA -- not randomised2026-09-18
- NCT01499511design×1 — studyType OBSERVATIONAL -- only INTERVENTIONAL is extracted2026-09-18
- NCT01515046design×1 — allocation NA -- not randomised2026-09-18
- NCT01555489design×1 — allocation NA -- not randomised2026-09-18
and 16 more.
Discarded: an endpoint this vocabulary does not hold5 papers
- PMID:17760959claims extracted but the object named resolved to no node — recorded in candidate_nodes (ADR-0070)2026-09-18
- PMID:284405no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: in vitro tumour cell growth-inhibition / drug-potentiation assay (no outcome node exists for cultured neuroblastoma growth inhibition) | growth inhibition / cytotoxicity of cultured neuroblastoma and glioma cells (cell death and reduced cell division), alone or combined with chemotherapy or radiation agents2026-09-18
- PMID:35861727no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: insect toxic-bait mortality/attraction assay (no outcome node exists for insect toxicology endpoints) | insecticidal mortality/efficacy of an attractive toxic sugar bait against adult mosquitoes2026-09-18
- PMID:40527426claims extracted but the object named resolved to no node — recorded in candidate_nodes (ADR-0070)2026-09-18
- PMID:4596392no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: Clostridium botulinum toxin formation / food-preservative antimicrobial efficacy (no outcome node exists for this food-safety endpoint) | toxin production by Clostridium botulinum in a cured-meat food matrix, and its inhibition by a co-added preservative2026-09-18
Discarded: no extractable result3 papers
- PMID:38133477claims extracted but the two passes did not agree2026-09-18
- PMID:41457243claims extracted but refused by the deterministic validators2026-09-18
- PMID:41485064no claim extracted — narrated_not_pooled2026-09-18
Not read yet13 papers
- PMID:100774272026-09-01
- PMID:153337072026-09-01
- PMID:172197802026-09-01
- PMID:237138082026-09-01
- PMID:238480672026-09-01
- PMID:251757972026-09-01
- PMID:27039172026-09-01
- PMID:304450502026-09-01
- PMID:314917372026-09-01
- PMID:75861942026-09-01
- PMID:92027292026-09-01
- PMID:94945482026-09-01
and 1 more.
Sources cited
1 paper
The 1 finding about sodium ascorbate on this page come from 1 paper, newest first. The count beside each opens the first finding drawn from it.
Other names
8 names
Every name this graph resolves to sodium ascorbate. Searching any of them lands here.
- Also called
- ascorbic acid sodium saltL-ascorbic acid sodium saltL-ascorbic acid, monosodium saltmonosodium L-ascorbatesodium L-ascorbatevitamin C sodiumvitamin C, sodium salt
- Systematic name
- sodium (2R)-2-[(1S)-1,2-dihydroxyethyl]-4-hydroxy-5-oxo-2,5-dihydrofuran-3-olate