Compound
calcium carbonate
Carbonic acid calcium salt (CaCO3). An odorless, tasteless powder or crystal that occurs in nature. It is used therapeutically as a phosphate buffer in hemodialysis patients and as a calcium supplement.
Studied for
1 endpoint, 1 finding, from 1 paper.
Structure
- Formula
- CO3.Ca
- Mass
- 100.086 g/mol
- Charge
- 0
- InChIKey
- VTYYLEPIZMXCLO-UHFFFAOYSA-L
- SMILES
- O=C([O-])[O-].[Ca+2]
- Look it up
- ChEBIBy InChIKey
Identity from ChEBI. Not evidence — none of it carries a grade.
What the evidence says
How to read these marks1 finding across 1 endpoint, from 1 paper, strongest first.
What moved
1 finding
Depletes dopamine
SpeculativeGrade F, Speculative. Mechanistic inference, or no evidence found.Finding“Calcium carbonate supplementation decreased the dopamine content in the basal ganglia, including the striatum and substantia nigra, and the number of tyrosine hydroxylase-positive neurons in the substantia nigra.”
Quoted verbatim from Calcium carbonate supplementation causes motor dysfunction.. - Study
- animal · not in humans
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Dose
- 0.6% or 1.0% calcium carbonate in diet for eight weeks
- Population
- Mice fed diets containing 0.6% or 1.0% calcium carbonate for eight weeks; basal ganglia (striatum and substantia nigra) tissue
Calcium carbonate supplementation causes motor dysfunction.2022PMID:35584940
On the label
The dose a label declares, which is the one a person meets. A label is a manufacturer’s statement about a package and says nothing about what the product does.
Labelled products
7 products
7 products in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database list calcium carbonate as an active ingredient. 6 of them state an amount per serving in mg, from 36.8 to 1,000 mg.
6 labels state an amount1 does not
- Barry FletcherB-Natural Hair Vitamins80 mgper 2 Capsule(s)DSLD:270384
- BayerAlka-Seltzer Extra Strength Heartburn Relief Chews Assorted Fruit750 mgper 1 Tablet(s)DSLD:239710
- BayerAlka-Seltzer Heartburn+Gas Relief Chews Tropical Punch750 mgper 1 Tablet(s)DSLD:239697
- BioSteelBioSteel Hydration Mix White Freeze FlavorAquamin36.8 mgper 7 Gram(s)DSLD:271048
- Complete AscentialsAfterburn Complete6Xamount not statedper 3 Spray(s)DSLD:315948
- WalgreensUltra Strength Antacid Tablets 1000 Assorted Berries1,000 mgper 2 Tablet(s)DSLD:26622
- Women's Choice PharmaceuticalsMulti-Vitamin/Mineral Supplement45 mgper 1 Tablet(s)DSLD:37267
Each row links to its label record at the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, which is where the declaration lives. CC0.
Registered, and not reported
Trials on ClinicalTrials.gov that list calcium carbonate as an intervention, reached completed, terminated or suspended, and posted no results. What they found is not known, and that is the point.
Trials without posted results
258 trials
258 registered trials without posted results. 109 passed an actual primary completion date more than a year ago, which is the reporting window FDAAA 801 sets. The list holds the most recent 120.
109 past the window11 within it, or no actual date
- NCT05493761completed2026-07-16a university or hospital
- NCT07717788completed2026-07-01a university or hospital
- NCT07668791completed2026-06-10industry
- NCT07784218completed2026-05-20a university or hospital
- NCT07743125completed2026-04-14a university or hospital
- NCT06841536completed2025-12-16a university or hospital
- NCT07134231completed2025-12-11industry
- NCT06779929completed2025-12-01a university or hospital
- NCT06650930completed2025-10-11a university or hospital
- NCT03732768completed2025-09-30industry
- NCT05424263completed2025-09-19a university or hospital
- NCT07088718completed2025-07-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
Show the remaining 246
- NCT05511610completed2025-06-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06882031completed2025-06-25industrypast the reporting window
- NCT07420595completed2025-06-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07056062completed2025-05-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03732781completed2025-05-14industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05100836completed2025-05-14industrypast the reporting window
- NCT04551404completed2025-05-13a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06732518completed2025-04-24industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06663371completed2025-03-12a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06887478completed2025-03-01a government bodypast the reporting window
- NCT07019415completed2025-02-28a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07054697completed2024-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07161804completed2024-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06479785completed2024-11-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06755489completed2024-11-19a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06725771completed2024-10-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05252884completed2024-10-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04338529completed2024-09-25a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06473792completed2024-07-06a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT07289828completed2024-06-04a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06293326completed2024-05-15industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06025773completed2024-04-19industrypast the reporting window
- NCT07507136completed2024-04-03industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06253299completed2024-03-20a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06383117completed2024-02-23a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06132269completed2024-01-30industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06523881completed2023-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06140758completed2023-12-11industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06026540completed2023-12-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06866561completed2023-11-15a government bodypast the reporting window
- NCT05767983completed2023-10-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04824612completed2023-10-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05544045terminated— Slow Enrollment2023-09-30industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05313477completed2023-08-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03634917completed2023-08-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05848180completed2023-08-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06629246completed2023-08-20a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05920915completed2023-07-25a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04836637completed2023-07-04a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04900337completed2023-06-30industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05577507completed2023-05-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05129670completed2023-05-22industrypast the reporting window
- NCT06218212completed2023-03-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06673485completed2023-03-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04308473completed2023-02-28a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03113994terminated— COVID-19 Pandemic2022-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04444765completed2022-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06247137completed2022-12-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06197555completed2022-12-24a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06464718completed2022-12-10a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03350516completed2022-11-03a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03930992completed2022-10-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05589051completed2022-10-28a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06250075completed2022-08-04a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05666583completed2022-07-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03582280terminated— Slow recruitment2022-06-30industrypast the reporting window
- NCT07087548completed2022-06-22a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05559619completed2022-06-05a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05582317completed2022-05-24a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04994613completed2022-05-12a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05510791completed2022-05-10a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04620252completed2022-03-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06900387completed2022-02-25a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04479566completed2022-01-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT06275347completed2021-12-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04182919completed2021-12-20a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05810909completed2021-12-10industrypast the reporting window
- NCT04664166completed2021-12-04a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05572762completed2021-11-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05266261completed2021-08-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03547661completed2021-06-28a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05372224completed2021-06-22a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04764565completed2021-04-06a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT02647671completed2021-03a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04884347completed2021-02-04industrypast the reporting window
- NCT04276649completed2020-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03451019completed2020-12-15a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04437147completed2020-11-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT05803681completed2020-11-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04550078completed2020-11-06a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04299633completed2020-08-02industrypast the reporting window
- NCT03425747completed2020-04-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03057314terminated— Slow recreuitment2019-12-31industrypast the reporting window
- NCT04606017completed2019-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03125447completed2019-12-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03949075completed2019-12-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT02969850completed2019-12-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT02281721terminated— Internal decision2019-12industrypast the reporting window
- NCT04721496completed2019-11-28a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT02322099terminated— Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the study was terminated prematurely2019-09a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03888508completed2019-08-16a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03380754completed2019-08-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03869398completed2019-07-01a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03452696completed2019-03-28a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT01578200completed2019-03-25a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03549156completed2019-03-08a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04046289completed2019-03-03a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT01867697completed2019-03a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT02662491completed2019-03a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT02426840completed2019-02a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03891095completed2019-01-15a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT02469558completed2018-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03515902completed2018-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT04146259completed2018-12-31a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03838068completed2018-12-30a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03284177completed2018-12-04industrypast the reporting window
- NCT05779982completed2018-12a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
- NCT03999775completed2018-11-20a university or hospitalpast the reporting window
Papers screened
32 papers
32 papers screened for calcium carbonate. 1 produced a finding, 18 were read and discarded, 13 have not been read yet. Each group opens to the papers in it.
The whole record lists every paper, the query that retrieved it and the date it was decided.
Produced a finding1 paper
- PMID:355849402026-09-18
Discarded: another reason, stated per paper7 papers
- PMID:32457467no claim extracted — cause not determined2026-09-18
- PMID:32606663no claim extracted — cause not determined2026-09-18
- PMID:33924775no claim extracted — cause not determined — DOSED: Tannylated calcium carbonate (TA-CaCO3), synthesized at a 1:75 molar ratio of tannic acid to calcium chloride/sodium carbonate, forming 3-6 micron particles (one pass only) — measured: acid-neutralizing capacity and free-radical scavenging capacity of a calcium-carbonate-based material, in vitro chemical assay2026-09-18
- PMID:36576609no claim extracted — cause not determined2026-09-18
- PMID:38302670no claim extracted — cause not determined2026-09-18
- PMID:38652191no claim extracted — cause not determined — DOSED: Biomineral shell powders and ethanol-soluble organic matrix extracts (ESM) from nacreous and non-nacreous mollusk shells (e.g. Pinctada radiata, P. maxima, P. fucata), not purified calcium carbonate (one pass only) — measured: osteoblastic extracellular matrix mineralization, Alizarin Red staining in vitro2026-09-18
- PMID:35845743no claim extracted — cause not determined2026-09-03
Discarded: no comparator5 papers
- PMID:11329115no claim extracted — comparator_not_absence2026-09-03
- PMID:19407667no claim extracted — comparator_not_absence2026-09-03
- PMID:25799184no claim extracted — comparator_not_absence2026-09-03
- PMID:34448696no claim extracted — comparator_not_absence2026-09-03
- PMID:41806228no claim extracted — comparator_not_absence2026-09-03
Discarded: an endpoint this vocabulary does not hold4 papers
- PMID:30730790no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: Tumor metastasis in murine fibrosarcoma and breast cancer models | tumor metastasis (metastatic spread), murine fibrosarcoma/breast cancer models2026-09-18
- PMID:39683484no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: Weight-bearing capacity in a rat femoral fracture model | weight-bearing capacity, weight-bearing test in a rat fracture model2026-09-18
- PMID:42162236no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: Serum C-terminal cross-linked telopeptides of type I collagen (CTX-I), a bone-resorption marker | trabecular microarchitecture (bone volume fraction, trabecular number, trabecular separation), micro-CT in rat femur2026-09-18
- PMID:42480078no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: uterine contractility / uterine activity, Montevideo units (MVUs) | uterine contractility, Montevideo units (MVUs)2026-09-03
Discarded: the wrong intervention2 papers
- PMID:33163476no claim extracted — reagent_not_exposure2026-09-18
- PMID:41469914no claim extracted — reagent_not_exposure2026-09-18
Not read yet13 papers
- PMID:179231952026-09-01
- PMID:269401682026-09-01
- PMID:303870672026-09-01
- PMID:310048432026-09-01
- PMID:327186252026-09-01
- PMID:367918292026-09-01
- PMID:380616752026-09-01
- PMID:381112112026-09-01
- PMID:386664512026-09-01
- PMID:387629712026-09-01
- PMID:389421832026-09-01
- PMID:390778652026-09-01
and 1 more.
Sources cited
1 paper
The 1 finding about calcium carbonate on this page come from 1 paper, newest first. The count beside each opens the first finding drawn from it.
Other names
6 names
Every name this graph resolves to calcium carbonate. Searching any of them lands here.
- Also called
- CaCO3calcium carbonate (1:1)carbonic acid calcium salt (1:1)E 170Precipitated calcium carbonate
- Systematic name
- calcium trioxidocarbonate