Studied for
4 endpoints · 7 findings · 3 papers · 2 null
- Interleukin-6 concentrationlowersEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.
- Tumour necrosis factor alpha concentrationno detected effectEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.
- C-reactive protein concentrationlowersEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.
- HOMA-IRlowersEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.
What the evidence says
How to read these marks7 findings · 4 endpoints · 3 papers · 2 null · by evidence strength
What moved
5 findings
Decreases C-reactive protein concentration
Very limitedEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.Finding“UA treatment also dramatically decreased the plasma levels of CRP, IL-6, and TNF-α in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05).”
Quoted verbatim from Synergism Effects of Ursolic Acid Supplementation on the Levels of Irisin, C-reactive Protein, IL-6, and TNF-α During High-intensity Resistance Training in Low Activity Men.. - Study
- RCT
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Dose
- 1 capsule 3 times/day
- Population
- Healthy low-activity men; high-intensity resistance training in both arms, UA versus placebo
Synergism Effects of Ursolic Acid Supplementation on the Levels of Irisin, C-reactive Protein, IL-6, and TNF-α During High-intensity Resistance Training in Low Activity Men.2020PMID:31533605Permalink
Decreases interleukin-6 concentration
Very limitedEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.Findingreplicated ×1“UA treatment also dramatically decreased the plasma levels of CRP, IL-6, and TNF-α in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05).”
Quoted verbatim from Synergism Effects of Ursolic Acid Supplementation on the Levels of Irisin, C-reactive Protein, IL-6, and TNF-α During High-intensity Resistance Training in Low Activity Men.. - Study
- RCT
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Dose
- 1 capsule 3 times/day
- Population
- Healthy low-activity men; high-intensity resistance training in both arms, UA versus placebo
Synergism Effects of Ursolic Acid Supplementation on the Levels of Irisin, C-reactive Protein, IL-6, and TNF-α During High-intensity Resistance Training in Low Activity Men.2020PMID:31533605Permalink
Decreases tumour necrosis factor alpha concentration
Very limitedEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.Finding“UA treatment also dramatically decreased the plasma levels of CRP, IL-6, and TNF-α in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05).”
Quoted verbatim from Synergism Effects of Ursolic Acid Supplementation on the Levels of Irisin, C-reactive Protein, IL-6, and TNF-α During High-intensity Resistance Training in Low Activity Men.. - Study
- RCT
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Dose
- 1 capsule 3 times/day
- Population
- Healthy low-activity men; high-intensity resistance training in both arms, UA versus placebo
Synergism Effects of Ursolic Acid Supplementation on the Levels of Irisin, C-reactive Protein, IL-6, and TNF-α During High-intensity Resistance Training in Low Activity Men.2020PMID:31533605Permalink
Decreases HOMA-IR
Very limitedEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.Finding“Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05).”
Quoted verbatim from The Assessment of Some Metabolic Markers by Combination of Ursolic Acid Supplementation and Resistance Training in Young Older Obese Women.. - Study
- RCT
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Dose
- capsule three times per day
- Population
- Obese women aged 50 to 70 years; moderate-to-high intensity resistance circuit training in both the UA and placebo arms
The Assessment of Some Metabolic Markers by Combination of Ursolic Acid Supplementation and Resistance Training in Young Older Obese Women.2021PMID:34528871Permalink
Decreases interleukin-6 concentration
Very limitedEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.Findingreplicated ×1“Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05).”
Quoted verbatim from The Assessment of Some Metabolic Markers by Combination of Ursolic Acid Supplementation and Resistance Training in Young Older Obese Women.. - Study
- RCT
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Dose
- capsule three times per day
- Population
- Obese women aged 50 to 70 years; moderate-to-high intensity resistance circuit training in both the UA and placebo arms
The Assessment of Some Metabolic Markers by Combination of Ursolic Acid Supplementation and Resistance Training in Young Older Obese Women.2021PMID:34528871Permalink
What did not
2 findings
No detected effect on tumour necrosis factor alpha concentration
Very limitedEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.FindingNull result“In conclusion, UA supplementation for 8weeks was not able to change the blood TNF-α, IL-10, and IL-6 concentrations in healthy men undergoing RT.”
Quoted verbatim from Ursolic acid does not change the cytokine levels following resistance training in healthy men: A pilot balanced, double-blind and placebo-controlled clinical trial.. - Study
- RCT
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Dose
- 400 mg/day
- Population
- Healthy men undergoing resistance training in both arms; UA 400 mg/day versus placebo 400 mg/day
Ursolic acid does not change the cytokine levels following resistance training in healthy men: A pilot balanced, double-blind and placebo-controlled clinical trial.2022PMID:34799219Permalink
No detected effect on interleukin-6 concentration
Very limitedEvidence strength: very limited. Human evidence with major recorded weaknesses, or non-human, uncontrolled or unverified evidence.FindingNull result“In conclusion, UA supplementation for 8weeks was not able to change the blood TNF-α, IL-10, and IL-6 concentrations in healthy men undergoing RT.”
Quoted verbatim from Ursolic acid does not change the cytokine levels following resistance training in healthy men: A pilot balanced, double-blind and placebo-controlled clinical trial.. - Study
- RCT
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Dose
- 400 mg/day
- Population
- Healthy men undergoing resistance training in both arms; UA 400 mg/day versus placebo 400 mg/day
Ursolic acid does not change the cytokine levels following resistance training in healthy men: A pilot balanced, double-blind and placebo-controlled clinical trial.2022PMID:34799219Permalink
On the label
Labelled products
3 products
Source: NIH DSLD · Ingredient: ursolic acid · 3 products · Declared amount per serving: 5–200 mg (3 products)
3 labels state an amount0 do not
- Labrada NutritionUrsolic AcidRosemary leaf extract200 mgper 4 Capsule(s)DSLD:271849
- Protocol For Life BalanceD-FlameHoly Basil extract · Ursolic Acid (Form: from Holy Basil extract)5 mgper 2 Vegetarian Capsule(s)DSLD:10595
- Protocol For Life BalanceD-FlameHoly Basil extract · Ursolic Acid (Form: from Holy Basil extract)5 mgper 2 Vegetarian Capsule(s)DSLD:15410
Label record: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements · CC0
Papers screened
12 papers
- Compound
- ursolic acid
- Screened
- 12
- Admitted
- 3
- Discarded
- 7
- Not read
- 2
Produced a finding3 papers
- PMID:315336052026-10-11
- PMID:345288712026-10-11
- PMID:347992192026-10-11
Discarded: no extractable result3 papers
- PMID:32593524claims extracted but the two passes did not agree2026-10-11
- PMID:34330458claims extracted but the two passes did not agree2026-10-11
- PMID:38923885no claim extracted — quote_over_cap2026-10-11
Discarded: another reason, stated per paper3 papers
- PMID:23134084no claim extracted — cause not determined (one pass only) — measured: plasma ursolic acid Cmax and AUC dose-proportionality after 4-h intravenous infusion of liposomes, UPLC-MS/MS2026-10-11
- PMID:25866811no claim extracted — cause not determined (one pass only) — measured: stable disease (disease control) proportion after 2 treatment cycles, criteria not stated2026-10-11
- PMID:41387498no claim extracted — cause not determined — DOSED: Annurca Apple Oleolite (AAO), an apple oil extract standardised to ursolic acid 784.40 µg/mL, topical 2.5% formulation, abstract2026-10-11
Discarded: no comparator1 paper
- PMID:28598231no claim extracted — within_arm_only2026-10-11
Not read yet2 papers
- PMID:283350872026-09-29
- PMID:330103692026-09-29
Measured, not recorded
- Compound
- ursolic acid
- Endpoints measured
- 77 endpoints
- Recorded as a finding
- No
Show what was measured
dose-limiting toxicity (hepatotoxicity and diarrhea) dose levels
unclear
The DLT was encountered at 74, 98, and 130 mg/m(2), and consisted of hepatotoxicity and diarrhea
PMID:23134084 · one of two readings recorded this
maximum tolerated dose
unclear
The MTD was 98 mg/m(2)
PMID:23134084 · one of two readings recorded this
single-dose plasma ursolic acid Cmax and AUC(0-24h, 0-inf) across 11 to 130 mg/m2 intravenous liposome doses, UPLC-MS/MS; dose-limiting toxicity and maximum tolerated dose, no control group
linear relationship between Cmax, AUC and escalated doses
Not recorded as a finding: this platform holds no node for the endpoint
The single-dose pharmacokinetic parameters revealed a linear relationship between C(max), AUC(0→24 h), or AUC(0→∞) and escalated doses.
PMID:23134084 · one of two readings recorded this
accumulation on multiple dosing (pharmacokinetic)
no effect
Multiple-dose pharmacokinetic analysis suggested UAL does not accumulate in the body
PMID:25866811 · one of two readings recorded this
grade 3 or higher adverse events (NCI-CTC)
no effect
No ≥grade 3 adverse events (NCI-CTC) were observed
PMID:25866811 · one of two readings recorded this
stable disease after 2 treatment cycles of intravenous ursolic acid liposomes in advanced solid tumours, single-arm dose-escalation, no control group
Not recorded as a finding: this platform holds no node for the endpoint
Sixty percent subjects achieved stable disease after 2 treatment cycles.
PMID:25866811 · one of two readings recorded this
stable disease after 2 treatment cycles
unclear
Sixty percent subjects achieved stable disease after 2 treatment cycles
PMID:25866811 · one of two readings recorded this
body mass index
decreases, p = 0.049
body mass index (BMI) (29.9 + 3.6 vs. 24.9 ± 1.2 kg/m2, P = .049)
PMID:28598231 · one of two readings recorded this
waist circumference
decreases, p = 0.008
waist circumference (93 ± 8.9 vs. 83 + 8.6 cm, P = .008)
PMID:28598231 · one of two readings recorded this
body weight, BMI, waist circumference, fasting glucose and insulin sensitivity (Matsuda index) before versus after 12 weeks of ursolic acid 150 mg/day in metabolic syndrome
decreases, fasting glucose 6.0 vs 4.7 mmol/L, P = .002 (pre versus post, within the ursolic acid arm), p = 0.002
Not recorded as a finding: the result compares a group with itself, not with a control
After ursolic acid administration, the remission of metabolic syndrome occurred in 50% of patients (P = .005) with significant differences in body weight (75.7 ± 11.5 vs. 71 ± 11 kg, P = .002), body mass index (BMI) (29.9 + 3.6 vs. 24.9 ± 1.2 kg/m2, P = .049), waist circumference (93 ± 8.9 vs. 83 + 8.6 cm, P = .008), fasting glucose (6.0 ± 0.5 vs. 4.7 ± 0.4 mmol/L, P = .002), and insulin sensitivity (3.1 ± 1.1 vs. 4.2 ± 1.2, P = .003).
PMID:28598231 · one of two readings recorded this
body weight
decreases, p = 0.002
body weight (75.7 ± 11.5 vs. 71 ± 11 kg, P = .002)
PMID:28598231 · one of two readings recorded this
fasting glucose
decreases, p = 0.002
fasting glucose (6.0 ± 0.5 vs. 4.7 ± 0.4 mmol/L, P = .002)
PMID:28598231 · one of two readings recorded this
insulin sensitivity
increases, p = 0.003
insulin sensitivity (3.1 ± 1.1 vs. 4.2 ± 1.2, P = .003)
PMID:28598231 · one of two readings recorded this
remission of metabolic syndrome
decreases, p = 0.005
the remission of metabolic syndrome occurred in 50% of patients (P = .005)
PMID:28598231 · one of two readings recorded this
C-reactive protein
decreases, p = 0.05
UA treatment also dramatically decreased the plasma levels of CRP, IL-6, and TNF-α in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05)
PMID:31533605 · one of two readings recorded this
interleukin-6
decreases, p = 0.05
UA treatment also dramatically decreased the plasma levels of CRP, IL-6, and TNF-α in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05)
PMID:31533605 · one of two readings recorded this
irisin
increases, p = 0.05
UA supplementation significantly increased the plasma levels of irisin in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05)
PMID:31533605 · one of two readings recorded this
plasma irisin, assay not stated
increases
Not recorded as a finding: No irisin outcome node
UA supplementation significantly increased the plasma levels of irisin in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05).
PMID:31533605 · one of two readings recorded this
plasma irisin level, assay not stated
increases, HIRT+UA higher than HIRT+P
Not recorded as a finding: No outcome node for irisin
UA supplementation significantly increased the plasma levels of irisin in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05).
PMID:31533605 · one of two readings recorded this
tumor necrosis factor alpha
decreases, p = 0.05
UA treatment also dramatically decreased the plasma levels of CRP, IL-6, and TNF-α in the HIRT+UA group versus the HIRT+P group (p<0.05)
PMID:31533605 · one of two readings recorded this
body mass index
increases, p = 0.001
body mass index (BMI) (CON Δ: 0.69 ± 0.15 kg/m2, p = 0.001 vs. UA Δ: 0.75 ± 0.23, p = 0.011)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
body mass index
increases, p = 0.011
body mass index (BMI) (CON Δ: 0.69 ± 0.15 kg/m2, p = 0.001 vs. UA Δ: 0.75 ± 0.23, p = 0.011)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
10-repetition maximum, knee extension
increases, p = 0.01
(CON Δ: 5.00 ± 2.09, p = 0.036 vs. UA Δ: 7.8 ± 1.87, p = 0.340 and CON Δ: 3.58 ± 1.15, p = 0.010 vs. UA Δ: 1.20 ± 0.72, p = 0.133)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
10-repetition maximum, knee extension
no effect, p = 0.133
(CON Δ: 5.00 ± 2.09, p = 0.036 vs. UA Δ: 7.8 ± 1.87, p = 0.340 and CON Δ: 3.58 ± 1.15, p = 0.010 vs. UA Δ: 1.20 ± 0.72, p = 0.133)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
arm, waist and hip circumferences
no effect
There was no difference in the arm, waist and hip circumferences
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
body weight
increases, p = 0.001
Both groups showed significant increases in body weight (CON Δ: 2.12 ± 0.47 kg, p = 0.001 vs. UA Δ: 2.24 ± 0.67 kg, p = 0.009)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
body weight
increases, p = 0.009
Both groups showed significant increases in body weight (CON Δ: 2.12 ± 0.47 kg, p = 0.001 vs. UA Δ: 2.24 ± 0.67 kg, p = 0.009)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
food intake
no effect
Food intake remained unchanged throughout the study
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
muscle mass and strength
no effect
Ursolic acid had no synergic effect on muscle strength and mass in response to RT in physically active men consuming a high-protein diet
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
muscle mass, body composition method not stated
no effect, CON 1.12 vs UA 1.08 kg increase, no significant difference between groups
Not recorded as a finding: Lean-mass node is fat-free mass; the paper reports muscle mass without naming the construct as FFM or the method
Both groups showed increases in muscle mass (CON Δ: 1.12 ± 0.26, p = 0.001 vs. UA Δ: 1.08 ± 0.28 kg, p = 0.004), but there was no significant difference between them.
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
muscle mass
increases, p = 0.001
Both groups showed increases in muscle mass (CON Δ: 1.12 ± 0.26, p = 0.001 vs. UA Δ: 1.08 ± 0.28 kg, p = 0.004)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
muscle mass
increases, p = 0.004
Both groups showed increases in muscle mass (CON Δ: 1.12 ± 0.26, p = 0.001 vs. UA Δ: 1.08 ± 0.28 kg, p = 0.004)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
one repetition maximum bench press and 10-repetition maximum knee extension; muscle mass; body weight; BMI; thigh circumference
no effect
Not recorded as a finding: the supporting sentence never names the compound
Additionally, there were significant increases in the one repetition maximum test in the bench press and in the 10-repetition maximum test in the knee extension (CON Δ: 5.00 ± 2.09, p = 0.036 vs. UA Δ: 7.8 ± 1.87, p = 0.340 and CON Δ: 3.58 ± 1.15, p = 0.010 vs. UA Δ: 1.20 ± 0.72, p = 0.133), respectively, with no difference between them.
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
one repetition maximum, bench press
increases, p = 0.036
(CON Δ: 5.00 ± 2.09, p = 0.036 vs. UA Δ: 7.8 ± 1.87, p = 0.340 and CON Δ: 3.58 ± 1.15, p = 0.010 vs. UA Δ: 1.20 ± 0.72, p = 0.133)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
one repetition maximum, bench press
no effect, p = 0.34
(CON Δ: 5.00 ± 2.09, p = 0.036 vs. UA Δ: 7.8 ± 1.87, p = 0.340 and CON Δ: 3.58 ± 1.15, p = 0.010 vs. UA Δ: 1.20 ± 0.72, p = 0.133)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
thigh circumference
increases, p = 0.002
thigh circumference (CON Δ: 1.50 ± 0.36, p = 0.002 vs. UA Δ: 2.46 ± 0.50 cm, p = 0.003 vs. UA 1.84 ± 0.82 cm, p = 0.001)
PMID:32593524 · one of two readings recorded this
waist circumference
no effect
no significant effects between groups were observed for waist circumference and other secondary outcomes
PMID:34330458 · one of two readings recorded this
absolute and relative handgrip strength in kgf, UA 450 mg/day versus placebo, combined exercise in both arms, postmenopausal women
increases, mean difference 1.8 kgf, 95% CI 0.3, 3.2 (absolute); 0.03 kgf/kg, 95% CI 0.01, 0.05 (relative)
Not recorded as a finding: the paper never states the instrument the node requires
Greater changes in the absolute (mean difference: 1.8 kgf, 95% CI 0.3, 3.2) and relative (0.03 kgf/kg, 95% CI 0.01, 0.05) handgrip strength was observed for the UA group compared with PLA.
PMID:34330458 · one of two readings recorded this
absolute handgrip strength change
increases
Greater changes in the absolute (mean difference: 1.8 kgf, 95% CI 0.3, 3.2) and relative (0.03 kgf/kg, 95% CI 0.01, 0.05) handgrip strength was observed for the UA group compared with PLA
PMID:34330458 · one of two readings recorded this
relative handgrip strength change
increases
Greater changes in the absolute (mean difference: 1.8 kgf, 95% CI 0.3, 3.2) and relative (0.03 kgf/kg, 95% CI 0.01, 0.05) handgrip strength was observed for the UA group compared with PLA
PMID:34330458 · one of two readings recorded this
remission of metabolic syndrome by NCEP ATP III criteria
no effect, 38.5% in both groups
Not recorded as a finding: The sentence reporting 38.5% remission in both groups does not name UA, so it is not self-supporting
Furthermore, remission of MetS (according to the NCEP ATP III criteria) occurred in 38.5% of the participants in both groups.
PMID:34330458 · one of two readings recorded this
remission of metabolic syndrome (NCEP ATP III)
no effect
remission of MetS (according to the NCEP ATP III criteria) occurred in 38.5% of the participants in both groups
PMID:34330458 · one of two readings recorded this
waist circumference (primary outcome), between-group comparison
no effect
Not recorded as a finding: The only sentence stating the null is agentless and names neither UA nor the arms, so it does not support a claim on its own
However, no significant effects between groups were observed for waist circumference and other secondary outcomes.
PMID:34330458 · one of two readings recorded this
HOMA-IR
decreases, p = 0.05
Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05)
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
IL-6
decreases, p = 0.05
Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05)
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
BDNF
increases, p = 0.05
the BDNF in the UA group significantly increased compared with the placebo (p < 0.05)
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
IL-15
decreases, p = 0.05
Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05)
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
BDNF level, matrix and assay not stated
increases, UA group higher than placebo group
Not recorded as a finding: The BDNF node requires serum by immunoassay and the abstract states neither matrix nor assay
However, the BDNF in the UA group significantly increased compared with the placebo (p < 0.05).
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
IL-15 and insulin levels, assay not stated
decreases, UA group lower than placebo group
Not recorded as a finding: No outcome node for IL-15 or for fasting insulin
Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05).
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
insulin, matrix and assay not stated
decreases
Not recorded as a finding: No fasting insulin outcome node
Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05).
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
insulin
decreases, p = 0.05
Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05)
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
Interleukin-15, level not stated how measured
decreases
Not recorded as a finding: No IL-15 outcome node
Interleukin-15 (IL-15), Interleukin-6 (IL-6), Insulin, and HOMA-IR decreased significantly in the placebo and UA groups versus control, but the UA group significantly decreased compared with the placebo (p<0.05).
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
Irisin
increases
the Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor (BDNF) and Irisin levels showed a significant increase in the placebo and UA groups versus control
PMID:34528871 · one of two readings recorded this
serum IL-10 concentration, assay not stated
no effect, p > 0.05
Not recorded as a finding: No matching node: the only IL-10 node is stimulated whole-blood IL-10 response, not a resting serum concentration
There was no difference in the serum cytokine concentrations of TNF-α, IL-10 and IL-6 (p > 0.05).
PMID:34799219 · one of two readings recorded this
serum IL-10 concentration
no effect
Not recorded as a finding: No IL-10 outcome node; the stimulated-IL-10 node is an ex-vivo whole-blood stimulation assay, a different measurement
In conclusion, UA supplementation for 8weeks was not able to change the blood TNF-α, IL-10, and IL-6 concentrations in healthy men undergoing RT.
PMID:34799219 · one of two readings recorded this
serum IL-10
no effect, p = 0.05, n = 27
There was no difference in the serum cytokine concentrations of TNF-α, IL-10 and IL-6 (p > 0.05)
PMID:34799219 · one of two readings recorded this
serum IL-6
no effect, p = 0.05, n = 27
There was no difference in the serum cytokine concentrations of TNF-α, IL-10 and IL-6 (p > 0.05)
PMID:34799219 · one of two readings recorded this
serum TNF-α
no effect, p = 0.05, n = 27
There was no difference in the serum cytokine concentrations of TNF-α, IL-10 and IL-6 (p > 0.05)
PMID:34799219 · one of two readings recorded this
body mass index
no effect
UA supplementation didn't significantly change body weight, body mass index, waist circumference, body fat percentage, lean body mass
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
fasting blood glucose
no effect
systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, fasting blood glucose, insulin, triglyceride and high-density lipoprotein compared with control groups
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
lean body mass
no effect
UA supplementation didn't significantly change body weight, body mass index, waist circumference, body fat percentage, lean body mass
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
waist circumference
no effect
UA supplementation didn't significantly change body weight, body mass index, waist circumference, body fat percentage, lean body mass
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
triglyceride
no effect
systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, fasting blood glucose, insulin, triglyceride and high-density lipoprotein compared with control groups
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
body fat percentage
no effect
UA supplementation didn't significantly change body weight, body mass index, waist circumference, body fat percentage, lean body mass
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
body weight
no effect
UA supplementation didn't significantly change body weight, body mass index, waist circumference, body fat percentage, lean body mass
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
diastolic blood pressure
no effect
systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, fasting blood glucose, insulin, triglyceride and high-density lipoprotein compared with control groups
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
high-density lipoprotein
no effect
systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, fasting blood glucose, insulin, triglyceride and high-density lipoprotein compared with control groups
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
insulin
no effect
systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, fasting blood glucose, insulin, triglyceride and high-density lipoprotein compared with control groups
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
pooled effect of ursolic acid supplementation on body weight, body mass index, waist circumference, body fat percentage, lean body mass, systolic and diastolic blood pressure, fasting blood glucose, insulin, triglyceride and HDL, versus control groups
no effect
Not recorded as a finding: the only supporting sentence runs past the quote limit
Conclusion: UA supplementation had no significant effect on the cardiometabolic risk factors in adults.
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
systolic blood pressure
no effect
systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, fasting blood glucose, insulin, triglyceride and high-density lipoprotein compared with control groups
PMID:38923885 · one of two readings recorded this
brown spot score
decreases, p = 0.001
Topical application of a formulation containing 2.5% AAO for 28 days significantly reduced UV and brown spot scores (-6.4% and - 4.1%, respectively; p < 0.001)
PMID:41387498 · one of two readings recorded this
ITA° (skin brightness and tone uniformity)
increases, p = 0.001
improved skin brightness and tone uniformity (ITA° +12.4%; L* +3.1%; both p < 0.001)
PMID:41387498 · one of two readings recorded this
L* (skin lightness)
increases, p = 0.001
improved skin brightness and tone uniformity (ITA° +12.4%; L* +3.1%; both p < 0.001)
PMID:41387498 · one of two readings recorded this
melanin index
decreases, p = 0.001
decreased melanin index (-10.2%, p < 0.001)
PMID:41387498 · one of two readings recorded this
skin brightness L* and ITA degree, melanin index, UV and brown spot scores after topical 2.5% Annurca Apple Oleolite for 28 days
increases, L* +3.1%
Not recorded as a finding: the supporting sentence never names the compound
Topical application of a formulation containing 2.5% AAO for 28 days significantly reduced UV and brown spot scores (-6.4% and - 4.1%, respectively; p < 0.001), decreased melanin index (-10.2%, p < 0.001), and improved skin brightness and tone uniformity (ITA° +12.4%; L* +3.1%; both p < 0.001) compared with placebo.
PMID:41387498 · one of two readings recorded this
skin brightness (L* value) and melanin index after 28 days of topical 2.5% apple oil extract versus placebo
increases, L* +3.1%
Not recorded as a finding: subject_absent
Topical application of a formulation containing 2.5% AAO for 28 days significantly reduced UV and brown spot scores (-6.4% and - 4.1%, respectively; p < 0.001), decreased melanin index (-10.2%, p < 0.001), and improved skin brightness and tone uniformity (ITA° +12.4%; L* +3.1%; both p < 0.001) compared with placebo.
PMID:41387498 · one of two readings recorded this
UV spot score
decreases, p = 0.001
Topical application of a formulation containing 2.5% AAO for 28 days significantly reduced UV and brown spot scores (-6.4% and - 4.1%, respectively; p < 0.001)
PMID:41387498 · one of two readings recorded this
Sources cited
3 papers
- Subject
- ursolic acid
- Findings
- 7
- Papers
- 3
Ursolic acid does not change the cytokine levels following resistance training in healthy men: A pilot balanced, double-blind and placebo-controlled clinical trial.record2022PMID:347992192 findings
The Assessment of Some Metabolic Markers by Combination of Ursolic Acid Supplementation and Resistance Training in Young Older Obese Women.record2021PMID:345288712 findings
Synergism Effects of Ursolic Acid Supplementation on the Levels of Irisin, C-reactive Protein, IL-6, and TNF-α During High-intensity Resistance Training in Low Activity Men.record2020PMID:315336053 findings