Compound
titanium dioxide
A titanium oxide with the formula TiO2. A naturally occurring oxide sourced from ilmenite, rutile and anatase, it has a wide range of applications.
Definition from ChEBI (CHEBI:32234), read 2026-09-23. CC BY 4.0.
Studied for
3 endpoints · 3 findings · 1 paper · 3 null
- C-reactive protein concentrationno detected effectEvidence strength: limited. Human evidence with several recorded weaknesses, or a design that tops out at limited.
- Total antioxidant capacityno detected effectEvidence strength: limited. Human evidence with several recorded weaknesses, or a design that tops out at limited.
- Tumour necrosis factor alpha concentrationno detected effectEvidence strength: limited. Human evidence with several recorded weaknesses, or a design that tops out at limited.
Structure
No three-dimensional record for this entry.
- Class
- Inorganic compound
- Formula
- O2Ti
- Mass
- 79.865 g/mol
- Charge
- 0
- InChIKey
- GWEVSGVZZGPLCZ-UHFFFAOYSA-N
- SMILES
- [O]=[Ti]=[O]
- Look it up
- ChEBIBy InChIKey
Identity from ChEBI. Not evidence.
What the evidence says
How to read these marks3 findings · 3 endpoints · 1 paper · 3 null · by evidence strength
Every finding here is a null result.
What did not
3 findings
No detected effect on C-reactive protein concentration
LimitedEvidence strength: limited. Human evidence with several recorded weaknesses, or a design that tops out at limited.FindingNull result“Following 2 weeks of dietary E171 exposure, no statistically significant difference in hs‐CRP levels (p‐value: 0.0755) was detected, although a trend toward an increase was observed (Figure.”
Quoted verbatim from Dietary Titanium Dioxide (E171) Alters the Colon Transcriptome-Evidence From a Human Dietary Intervention Study.. - Study
- crossover
- Duration
- 14 days
- Dose
- 2 mg/kg body weight/day of E171 for 2 weeks
- Population
- 31 healthy adults
Dietary Titanium Dioxide (E171) Alters the Colon Transcriptome-Evidence From a Human Dietary Intervention Study.2026PMID:42613907Permalink
No detected effect on total antioxidant capacity
LimitedEvidence strength: limited. Human evidence with several recorded weaknesses, or a design that tops out at limited.FindingNull result“No statistically significant difference was detected between the control and E171‐exposed groups in the TEAC or TCA‐TEAC assays (Figure.”
Quoted verbatim from Dietary Titanium Dioxide (E171) Alters the Colon Transcriptome-Evidence From a Human Dietary Intervention Study.. - Study
- crossover
- Duration
- 14 days
- Dose
- 2 mg/kg body weight/day of E171 for 2 weeks
- Population
- 31 healthy adults
Dietary Titanium Dioxide (E171) Alters the Colon Transcriptome-Evidence From a Human Dietary Intervention Study.2026PMID:42613907Permalink
No detected effect on tumour necrosis factor alpha concentration
LimitedEvidence strength: limited. Human evidence with several recorded weaknesses, or a design that tops out at limited.FindingNull result“Pro‐inflammatory cytokines, including interleukin (IL)‐1β, IL‐6, IL‐8, tumor necrosis factor‐α (TNF‐α), and interferon‐γ (IFN‐γ), showed no statistically significant differences between CTRL and E171 conditions.”
Quoted verbatim from Dietary Titanium Dioxide (E171) Alters the Colon Transcriptome-Evidence From a Human Dietary Intervention Study.. - Study
- crossover
- Duration
- 14 days
- Dose
- 2 mg/kg body weight/day of E171 for 2 weeks
- Population
- 31 healthy adults
Dietary Titanium Dioxide (E171) Alters the Colon Transcriptome-Evidence From a Human Dietary Intervention Study.2026PMID:42613907Permalink
On the label
Labelled products
1 product
Source: NIH DSLD · Ingredient: titanium dioxide · 1 product · Declared amount per serving: Not stated
0 labels state an amount1 does not
- Transformations Weight LossM.E. Freeamount not statedper 1 Capsule(s)DSLD:284026
Label record: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements · CC0
Papers screened
48 papers
- Compound
- titanium dioxide
- Screened
- 48
- Admitted
- 1
- Discarded
- 27
- Not read
- 20
Produced a finding1 paper
- PMID:426139072026-09-12
Discarded: the wrong intervention14 papers
- NCT00483496intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT00843466intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT00950248intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT01230814intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT02286921intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT02340962intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT03030248intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT04401579intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT04640168intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT04709419intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT04737278intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
- NCT04795336intervention×1 — no declared intervention names titanium dioxide2026-09-29
and 2 more.
Discarded: an endpoint this vocabulary does not hold5 papers
- PMID:21651955no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: mechanical strength of glass-ionomer restorative (universal testing machine) and direct contact test antibacterial activity against S. mutans | mechanical properties (fracture toughness, flexural/compressive strength, Vickers microhardness) and direct-contact test antibacterial activity of a dental restorative material2026-10-05
- PMID:29538276no claim extracted — endpoint_near_miss — measured: lung cancer mortality (SSMR), occupational cohorts; node is lung cancer incidence | lung cancer mortality, summary SMR from pooled occupational cohorts (node covers incident diagnoses, not death)2026-10-05
- PMID:38178135no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: oral Streptococcus mutans colony forming units per ml, swab on blood agar | oral Streptococcus mutans colony-forming units per ml, swab culture on blood agar at baseline, 1, 2, 4 and 6 months2026-10-05
- PMID:40090402no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: tooth bleaching colour change, CIEDE2000 ΔE00 and whiteness index WID | tooth colour change ΔE00 and whiteness index for dentistry (WID), pooled across in vitro and in vivo bleaching studies2026-10-05
- PMID:40601245no claim extracted — no_outcome_node — measured: all-site cancer incidence (any cancer, ICD-10 C and D0), rate ratio per cumulative TiO2 increment | overall cancer incidence, rate ratio per increment of cumulative TiO2 ingested through medicines (SNDS hospital discharge or long-term-disease registration)2026-10-05
Discarded: another reason, stated per paper5 papers
- PMID:35409922no claim extracted — design_has_no_evidence_type2026-10-05
- PMID:35559882no claim extracted — cause not determined (one pass only) — measured: benchmark dose (BMD) of TiO2 by surface-area dose metric, in vitro to human air-concentration extrapolation2026-10-05
- PMID:35866823no claim extracted — design_has_no_evidence_type2026-10-05
- PMID:39980420no claim extracted — cause not determined (one pass only) — measured: dietary intake of titanium dioxide, mg/kg bw/day, pooled across exposure-assessment studies2026-10-05
- NCT06034340design×1 — allocation NA -- not randomised2026-09-29
Discarded: no extractable result2 papers
- PMID:35968459no claim extracted — narrated_not_pooled2026-10-05
- PMID:37344693no claim extracted — no_quantitative_result2026-10-05
Discarded: no comparator1 paper
- PMID:19885409no claim extracted — comparator_not_absence2026-10-05
Not read yet20 papers
- PMID:111766582026-09-29
- PMID:115603362026-09-29
- PMID:127081442026-09-29
- PMID:152806282026-09-29
- PMID:159031732026-09-29
- PMID:177220962026-09-29
- PMID:198954302026-09-29
- PMID:201906542026-09-29
- PMID:214838842026-09-29
- PMID:231438342026-09-29
- PMID:285458312026-09-29
- PMID:32304442026-09-29
and 8 more.
Measured, not recorded
- Compound
- titanium dioxide
- Endpoints measured
- 119 endpoints
- Recorded as a finding
- No
Show what was measured
early decrease in RFA values, FTB vs TB
decreases
FTB implants did not exhibit the early decreases in RFA values seen in TB implants
PMID:19885409 · one of two readings recorded this
implant stability (RFA value) fluctuation
modulates
TB implants showed fluctuations in RFA values during the first 6 weeks, whereas the RFA values of FTB implants remained stable throughout the study period
PMID:19885409 · one of two readings recorded this
implant stability (RFA value) stability
no effect
TB implants showed fluctuations in RFA values during the first 6 weeks, whereas the RFA values of FTB implants remained stable throughout the study period
PMID:19885409 · one of two readings recorded this
antibacterial activity against Streptococcus mutans
decreases
GI-containing TiO(2) nanoparticles possessed a potent antibacterial effect
PMID:21651955 · one of two readings recorded this
fracture toughness, compressive and flexural strength, microhardness, setting time and S. mutans direct-contact antibacterial activity of TiO2-nanoparticle-modified glass-ionomer cement
increases
Not recorded as a finding: this platform holds no node for the endpoint
GI-containing 3% and 5% (w/w) TiO(2) nanoparticles improved the fracture toughness, flexural strength and compressive strength compared to the unmodified GI.
PMID:21651955 · one of two readings recorded this
fracture toughness, flexural strength and compressive strength
increases
GI-containing 3% and 5% (w/w) TiO(2) nanoparticles improved the fracture toughness, flexural strength and compressive strength compared to the unmodified GI
PMID:21651955 · one of two readings recorded this
mechanical properties
decreases
However, a decrease in the mechanical properties was found for GI-containing 7% (w/w) TiO(2) nanoparticles
PMID:21651955 · one of two readings recorded this
microtensile bond strength to dentine and fluoride release
no effect
The addition of TiO(2) nanoparticles to the conventional GI did not compromise its bond strength with dentine or fluoride release of the GI
PMID:21651955 · one of two readings recorded this
setting time
decreases
Setting time of GI-containing TiO(2) nanoparticles decreased but the values remained within ISO limits
PMID:21651955 · one of two readings recorded this
surface microhardness
decreases
GI-containing 5% and 7% (w/w) TiO(2) nanoparticles compromised the surface microhardness
PMID:21651955 · one of two readings recorded this
all cancer mortality, summary SMR
no effect, n = 24312
SSMRs for lung cancer, all causes, all cancer, and non-malignant respiratory disease were 1.10 (95% confidence interval [CI]: 0.91 to 1.32), 0.85 (95% CI: 0.81 to 0.89), 0.92 (95% CI: 0.82 to 1.03), and 0.85 (95% CI: 0.71 to 1.02)
PMID:29538276 · one of two readings recorded this
all-cause mortality, summary SMR
decreases, n = 24312
SSMRs for lung cancer, all causes, all cancer, and non-malignant respiratory disease were 1.10 (95% confidence interval [CI]: 0.91 to 1.32), 0.85 (95% CI: 0.81 to 0.89), 0.92 (95% CI: 0.82 to 1.03), and 0.85 (95% CI: 0.71 to 1.02)
PMID:29538276 · one of two readings recorded this
lung cancer mortality, cumulative exposure-response
no effect
the summary hazard ratio for a 1 mg/m year increase in cumulative exposure was 0.999 (0.997 to 1.002)
PMID:29538276 · one of two readings recorded this
lung cancer mortality, summary SMR
no effect, n = 24312
SSMRs for lung cancer, all causes, all cancer, and non-malignant respiratory disease were 1.10 (95% confidence interval [CI]: 0.91 to 1.32), 0.85 (95% CI: 0.81 to 0.89), 0.92 (95% CI: 0.82 to 1.03), and 0.85 (95% CI: 0.71 to 1.02)
PMID:29538276 · one of two readings recorded this
lung cancer mortality, summary standardized mortality ratio (SSMR) in occupationally exposed TiO2 production workers vs general-population rates
SSMR lung cancer 1.10 (95% CI 0.91 to 1.32)
Not recorded as a finding: a node exists but the paper states a different instrument or population
SSMRs for lung cancer, all causes, all cancer, and non-malignant respiratory disease were 1.10 (95% confidence interval [CI]: 0.91 to 1.32), 0.85 (95% CI: 0.81 to 0.89), 0.92 (95% CI: 0.82 to 1.03), and 0.85 (95% CI: 0.71 to 1.02), respectively.
PMID:29538276 · one of two readings recorded this
non-malignant respiratory disease mortality, summary SMR
no effect, n = 24312
SSMRs for lung cancer, all causes, all cancer, and non-malignant respiratory disease were 1.10 (95% confidence interval [CI]: 0.91 to 1.32), 0.85 (95% CI: 0.81 to 0.89), 0.92 (95% CI: 0.82 to 1.03), and 0.85 (95% CI: 0.71 to 1.02)
PMID:29538276 · one of two readings recorded this
cytotoxicity of coated vs uncoated TiO2 NMs
increases
surface coating P25-TiO2 NMs and anatase P25-TiO2 NMs with silica and vanadium pentoxide resulted in increased pulmonary inflammation and a cytotoxicity of up to 400%, respectively, when compared to the same uncoated NMs
PMID:35409922 · one of two readings recorded this
global warming potential and cumulative energy demand
decreases
Due to the improved efficiency of the photo-reactor, environmental benefits are achieved for GWP and CED
PMID:35409922 · one of two readings recorded this
HTP and FEP, nanoforms vs bulk materials
increases
Interestingly, HTP and FEP are several orders of magnitude larger for NMs than the same impact potentials for bulk materials
PMID:35409922 · one of two readings recorded this
human toxicity potential and freshwater ecotoxicity potential
increases
Although there was a decrease in environmental sustainability impact (GWP and CED), the alternative had a relatively higher level of human and ecotoxicity (HTP and FEP)
PMID:35409922 · one of two readings recorded this
in vitro doses relative to realistic human exposure (Swiss Occupational Exposure Limit benchmark)
First, we confirmed that most in vitro doses are much higher than realistic human exposures, considering the Swiss Occupational Exposure Limit as benchmark
PMID:35559882 · one of two readings recorded this
Support Vector Machine accuracy predicting BMD-derived human exposure range for in vitro viability effects
with an accuracy of 85%
PMID:35559882 · one of two readings recorded this
surface-area benchmark dose (BMD) precision, in vitro versus in vivo
despite both types of data had a quite wide range, animal data were overall more precise
PMID:35559882 · one of two readings recorded this
surface-area BMD, human co-cultures versus rodent cells
increases
while the surface area BMDs from studies on rodents and rodent cells were comparable, human co-cultures showed less susceptibility and had higher BMDs regardless of the titanium dioxide type
PMID:35559882 · one of two readings recorded this
mean area stenosis across 1-mm cross-sections
n = 1
In cross-sectional OCT images analyzed at 1-mm longitudinal intervals, the mean area stenosis was estimated to be 28.29%
PMID:35866823 · one of two readings recorded this
minimum lumen area
n = 1
OCT shows thin stent strut coverage with an MLA of 5.43 mm2 and an AS of 30.7%
PMID:35866823 · one of two readings recorded this
minimum lumen area
n = 1
which demonstrated a minimum lumen area of 1.05 mm2 with a plaque burden of 86%
PMID:35866823 · one of two readings recorded this
minimum stent area
n = 1
which demonstrated a well-expanded and apposed stent strut, with a minimum stent area of 6.24 mm2
PMID:35866823 · one of two readings recorded this
percentage area stenosis at minimum lumen area segment
n = 1
OCT shows thin stent strut coverage with an MLA of 5.43 mm2 and an AS of 30.7%
PMID:35866823 · one of two readings recorded this
plaque burden
n = 1
which demonstrated a minimum lumen area of 1.05 mm2 with a plaque burden of 86%
PMID:35866823 · one of two readings recorded this
acute myocardial infarction mortality, cumulative exposure, internal analysis
no effect, n = 432
Random-effects hazard ratios for AMI in an internal analysis indicated a relative risk of 1.10 (95% CI: 0.92–1.31) for cumulative exposure based on 432 deaths among the three cohorts
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
acute myocardial infarction mortality, cumulative exposure, internal analysis
no effect, n = 138
An internal analysis of an inception cohort that included 138 observed cases showed a relative risk of acute myocardial infarction based on a cumulative of 1.05 (95% CI: 0.97–1.13)
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
acute myocardial infarction mortality, meta-analysis (random effects)
no effect
Acute myocardial infarction | 1.08 | 0.74–1.59
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart disease mortality, high vs low cumulative exposure
no effect, n = 44
High | 44 | 0.8 | 0.5–1.4
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart disease mortality, medium vs low cumulative exposure
no effect, n = 57
Medium | 57 | 1.1 | 0.7–1.8
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart disease mortality, trend with cumulative exposure
no effect, p = 0.1
No significant association was observed with increasing cumulative exposure (p-value of 0.10; refer to Table 7)
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart disease mortality vs US disease rates
no effect
in comparison to US disease rates, the SMR was 0.9 (95% CI: 0.7–1.0)
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart diseases mortality, DuPont reference rates
no effect, n = 102
All heart diseases | 102 | 1.15 | 0.98–1.40 | DuPont
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart diseases mortality, DuPont reference rates
no effect, n = 305
305 | 1.04 | 0.93–1.16 | DuPont
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart diseases mortality, US reference rates
decreases, n = 519
All heart diseases | 519 | 0.82 | 0.75–0.89 | US
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart diseases mortality, US reference rates
no effect, n = 107
All heart diseases | 107 | 0.93 | 0.80–1.09 | US
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
all heart diseases mortality, US reference rates
no effect, n = 306
All heart diseases | 306 | 0.92 | 0.82–1.03 | US
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
circulatory system disease mortality (ICD 8: 390-458)
no effect, n = 157
In this analysis, the SMR of diseases of the circulatory system (ICD 8: 390–458) was 1.0 based on 157 deaths (95% CI: 0.85–1.17)
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality by cumulative exposure, 15-35 mg/m-2 years vs <5
increases
15–35 | 1.61 | 1.13–2.31 | 1.65 | 1.16–2.34
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality by cumulative exposure, 15-35 mg/m-2 years vs <5
increases
15–35 | 1.61 | 1.13–2.31 | 1.65 | 1.16–2.34
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality by cumulative exposure, 35-80 mg/m-2 years vs <5
no effect
35–80 | 1.32 | 0.90–1.94 | 1.36 | 0.92–2.00
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality by cumulative exposure, 35-80 mg/m-2 years vs <5
no effect
35–80 | 1.32 | 0.90–1.94 | 1.36 | 0.92–2.00
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality by cumulative exposure, 5-15 mg/m-2 years vs <5
no effect
5–15 | 1.30 | 0.89–1.89 | 1.47 | 1.02–2.11
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality by cumulative exposure, 5-15 mg/m-2 years vs <5
increases
5–15 | 1.30 | 0.89–1.89 | 1.47 | 1.02–2.11
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality by cumulative exposure, 80+ mg/m-2 years vs <5
no effect
80+ | 1.27 | 0.84–1.90 | 1.51 | 1.00–2.25
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality by cumulative exposure, 80+ mg/m-2 years vs <5
no effect
80+ | 1.27 | 0.84–1.90 | 1.51 | 1.00–2.25
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-429), full cohort
decreases
Diseases of the heart ICD-9 410-429 | 616 | 790 | 0.78 | 0.72-0.84 | 332 | 394 | 0.84 | 0.75-0.94
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-429), German national reference
increases
Diseases of the heart ICD−9: 410–429 | 103 | 1.29 | 1.05–1.57 | 60 | 1.39 | 1.06–1.79
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-429), German national reference
increases
Diseases of the heart ICD−9: 410–429 | 103 | 1.29 | 1.05–1.57 | 60 | 1.39 | 1.06–1.79
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-429), inception cohort
decreases
Diseases of the heart ICD-9 410-429 | 616 | 790 | 0.78 | 0.72-0.84 | 332 | 394 | 0.84 | 0.75-0.94
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-429), state reference
no effect
Diseases of the heart ICD−9: 410–429 | 103 | 1.17 | 0.96–1.42 | 60 | 1.28 | 0.98–1.65
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-429), state reference
no effect
Diseases of the heart ICD−9: 410–429 | 103 | 1.17 | 0.96–1.42 | 60 | 1.28 | 0.98–1.65
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality in heavy smokers (more than 24 cigarettes per day)
increases
Workers who smoked more than 24 cigarettes per day had the highest relative risk of heart disease (7.50; 95% CI: 1.53–36.68)
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
heart disease mortality, meta-analysis (random effects)
no effect
Heart disease | 1.01 | 0.79–1.29
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality (ICD 410-414), men
decreases, n = 629
ICD:410–414 | Men | 629 | 0.88 | 0.81–0.95 | national
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality (ICD 410-414), women
no effect, n = 5
women | 5 | 0.63 | 0.20–1.41 | national
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-414), full cohort
decreases
Ischemic Heart Disease ICD-9 410-414 | 272 | 309 | 0.82 | 0.75-0.90 | 272 | 309 | 0.88 | 0.78-0.99
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-414), German national reference
increases
Ischemic Heart Disease ICD−9: 410–414 | 75 | 1.30 | 1.02–1.63 | 43 | 1.36 | 0.98–1.83
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-414), German national reference
no effect
Ischemic Heart Disease ICD−9: 410–414 | 75 | 1.30 | 1.02–1.63 | 43 | 1.36 | 0.98–1.83
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-414), inception cohort
decreases
Ischemic Heart Disease ICD-9 410-414 | 272 | 309 | 0.82 | 0.75-0.90 | 272 | 309 | 0.88 | 0.78-0.99
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-414), state reference
no effect
Ischemic Heart Disease ICD−9: 410–414 | 75 | 1.19 | 0.94–1.49 | 43 | 1.27 | 0.92–1.71
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality (ICD-9 410-414), state reference
no effect
Ischemic Heart Disease ICD−9: 410–414 | 75 | 1.19 | 0.94–1.49 | 43 | 1.27 | 0.92–1.71
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart disease mortality, meta-analysis (random effects)
no effect
Ischemic heart disease | 1.02 | 0.80–1.30
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart diseases mortality, DuPont reference rates
no effect, n = 73
Ischemic heart diseases | 73 | 1.09 | 0.90–1.35 | DuPont
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
ischemic heart diseases mortality, US reference rates
no effect, n = 76
Ischemic heart diseases | 76 | 0.93 | 0.78–1.13 | US
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
other heart disease mortality (ICD-9 415-429), German national reference
no effect
Other Heart Disease ICD−9 415–429 | 28 | 1.28 | 0.85–1.85 | 17 | 1.47 | 0.86–2.35
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
other heart disease mortality (ICD-9 415-429), German national reference
no effect
Other Heart Disease ICD−9 415–429 | 28 | 1.28 | 0.85–1.85 | 17 | 1.47 | 0.86–2.35
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
other heart disease mortality (ICD-9 415-429), state reference
no effect
Other Heart Disease ICD−9 415–429 | 28 | 1.13 | 0.75–1.63 | 17 | 1.31 | 0.76–2.10
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
other heart disease mortality (ICD-9 415-429), state reference
no effect
Other Heart Disease ICD−9 415–429 | 28 | 1.13 | 0.75–1.63 | 17 | 1.31 | 0.76–2.10
PMID:35968459 · one of two readings recorded this
blood alanine aminotransferase (ALT)
increases
According to the findings, TiO2 NPs exposure can cause an elevation in AST and ALT levels in the blood
PMID:37344693 · one of two readings recorded this
blood aspartate aminotransferase (AST)
increases
According to the findings, TiO2 NPs exposure can cause an elevation in AST and ALT levels in the blood
PMID:37344693 · one of two readings recorded this
blood AST and ALT levels after TiO2 nanoparticle exposure, meta-analysis (species and route not stated in abstract)
increases
Not recorded as a finding: no estimate is reported anywhere
According to the findings, TiO2 NPs exposure can cause an elevation in AST and ALT levels in the blood.
PMID:37344693 · one of two readings recorded this
blood AST and ALT levels after TiO2 NP exposure, meta-analysis within a narrative review
increases
Not recorded as a finding: no estimate is reported anywhere
According to the findings, TiO2 NPs exposure can cause an elevation in AST and ALT levels in the blood.
PMID:37344693 · one of two readings recorded this
age
no effect, p = 0.452, n = 20
Age (years) | Mean ± SD 11 ± 1.16 | Mean ± SD 10.6 ± 1.17 | t value 0.768 | P value 0.452
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count, 4 months vs 1 month pairwise
decreases, p = 0.002
Pairwise comparisons revealed a statistically significantly lower sample after 4 and 6 months vs. 1 month in the test group (p values are 0.002 and 0.011, respectively)
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count, 6 months vs 1 month pairwise
decreases, p = 0.011
Pairwise comparisons revealed a statistically significantly lower sample after 4 and 6 months vs. 1 month in the test group (p values are 0.002 and 0.011, respectively)
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count, 6 months vs baseline pairwise
increases, p = 0.037
a statistically significantly higher sample after 6 months vs. baseline in the control group (p = 0.037)
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count over time (Friedman test)
increases, p = 0.004
At baseline | 100,000 (100,000–100,000) | 23.234 | < 0.001 | 10,000 (1000–10,000) | 15.465 | 0.004
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count over time (Friedman test)
decreases, p = 0.001
At baseline | 100,000 (100,000–100,000) | 23.234 | < 0.001 | 10,000 (1000–10,000) | 15.465 | 0.004
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count, test vs control
no effect, p = 0.684
After 1-month | 100,000 (1,000,000 − 100,000) | 100,000 (77,500–100,000) | 0.000 | -0.669 | 0.684
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count, test vs control
no effect, p = 0.436
After 2-months | 10,000 (7750-100000) | 10,000 (10,000–100,000) | 0.000 | 0.935 | 0.436
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count, test vs control
decreases, p = 0.005
After 4-months | 5500 (775-10000) | 100,000 (10,000–100,000) | -90,000 | 2.865 | 0.005
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count, test vs control
decreases, p = 0.002
After 6-months | 10,000 (1000–10,000) | 100,000 (77,500–100,000) | -90,000 | 3.170 | 0.002
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
bacterial colony count, test vs control
increases, p = 0.043
At baseline | 100,000 (100,000–100,000) | 10,000 (1000–10,000) | 90,000 | -2.195 | 0.043
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
change in bacterial colony count from baseline, test vs control
decreases, p = 0.001
Baseline minus four months | 90,000 6750 to 92,250 | -49,500 -90,000 to 0 | 99,000 | -3.608 | < 0.001
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
change in bacterial colony count from baseline, test vs control
no effect, p = 0.143
Baseline minus one-month | 0 -90,000 to 0 | -90,000 -92,250 to 0 | 9900 | -1.656 | 0.143
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
change in bacterial colony count from baseline, test vs control
decreases, p = 0.001
Baseline minus six months | 90,000 0 to 99,000 | -90,000 -92,250 to -675 | 99,900 | -3.453 | < 0.001
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
change in bacterial colony count from baseline, test vs control
no effect, p = 0.052
Baseline minus two months | 49,500 -22,500 to 90,000 | -9000 -90,000 to 0 | 90,000 | -1.966 | 0.052
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
Streptococcus mutans colony count (CFU/ml) from palatal gingival swabs cultured on blood agar, 1% TiO2 nanoparticle acrylic baseplate versus identical baseplate without TiO2
decreases, fewer colonies in the test group than control at 4 and 6 months; higher in test group at baseline
Not recorded as a finding: this platform holds no node for the endpoint
At baseline, there were statistically significantly higher samples (p = 0.043), after 4 months, there were significantly fewer samples (p = 0.005), and after 6 months, there were significantly fewer samples (p = 0.002) in the test group vs. the control group (Table 4).
PMID:38178135 · one of two readings recorded this
lifelong weighted average oral TiO2 exposure
a lifelong weighted average TiO2 exposure of 1.43 mg/kgbw/day
PMID:39980420 · one of two readings recorded this
TiO2 exposure, adolescents versus adults
increases
adolescents (10-17 years) exposures approach adult levels (SMD = 0.49)
PMID:39980420 · one of two readings recorded this
TiO2 exposure, ages 3-9 versus 18-64 years
increases
2.15 (ages 3-9 vs. 18-64 years)
PMID:39980420 · one of two readings recorded this
TiO2 exposure, children versus adults, general comparison
increases
Standardized Mean Differences (SMD) of 1.05 (general comparison)
PMID:39980420 · one of two readings recorded this
color difference (ΔE00)
increases, p = 0.04
significantly greater ΔE00 values (P=0.04; MD=0.50; 95% CI: 0.01 to 0.98)
PMID:40090402 · one of two readings recorded this
tooth bleaching colour difference (ΔE00) and whiteness index for dentistry (WID), HP gel with TiO2 versus HP gel alone
increases, ΔE00 MD=0.50 (95% CI 0.01 to 0.98); ΔWID MD=2.28 (95% CI 0.75 to 3.80)
Not recorded as a finding: this platform holds no node for the endpoint
The meta-analysis demonstrated that incorporating TiO2 into HP gels resulted in significantly greater ΔE00 values (P=0.04; MD=0.50; 95% CI: 0.01 to 0.98) and ΔWID values (P=0.003; MD=2.28; 95% CI: 0.75 to 3.80) than did using HP gels alone, with the ΔWID exceeding the perceptible threshold.
PMID:40090402 · one of two readings recorded this
tooth colour difference (ΔE00) and whiteness index for dentistry (ΔWID) after hydrogen peroxide bleaching gel with versus without incorporated TiO2
increases, ΔE00 MD=0.50 (95% CI 0.01 to 0.98); ΔWID MD=2.28 (95% CI 0.75 to 3.80), p = 0.04
Not recorded as a finding: this platform holds no node for the endpoint
The meta-analysis demonstrated that incorporating TiO2 into HP gels resulted in significantly greater ΔE00 values (P=0.04; MD=0.50; 95% CI: 0.01 to 0.98) and ΔWID values (P=0.003; MD=2.28; 95% CI: 0.75 to 3.80) than did using HP gels alone, with the ΔWID exceeding the perceptible threshold.
PMID:40090402 · one of two readings recorded this
whiteness index for dentistry (ΔWID)
increases, p = 0.003
ΔWID values (P=0.003; MD=2.28; 95% CI: 0.75 to 3.80)
PMID:40090402 · one of two readings recorded this
Bonferroni-corrected significance level, 13 main cancer localizations
no effect, p = 0.004
The corrected significance level was indeed 0.004 when considering the 13 main cancer localizations, and 0.003 when also considering cancer sub-localizations
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
breast cancer risk
increases
Only breast (RR per 1000 tablet increment: 1.01, 95% CI: 0.99–1.04; per 10,000 mg: 1.03, 95% CI:1.00-1.07)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
breast cancer risk
no effect
Only breast (RR per 1000 tablet increment: 1.01, 95% CI: 0.99–1.04; per 10,000 mg: 1.03, 95% CI:1.00-1.07)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
cumulative number of TiO2-containing tablets, cases vs controls (dose study)
Cumulative number of tablets containing TiO2, mean (SD) | 1090 (1553) | 1066 (1528) | 917 (1481) | 891 (1452)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
cumulative number of TiO2-containing tablets, cases vs controls (tablet-count study)
Cumulative number of tablets containing TiO2, mean (SD) | 1090 (1553) | 1066 (1528) | 917 (1481) | 891 (1452)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
cumulative TiO2 amount, cases vs controls (dose study)
Cumulative amount of TiO2, mean (SD), milligramsb | 4365 (9946) | 4275 (9800) | 4365 (9946) | 4270 (9783)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
cumulative TiO2 amount, cases vs controls (tablet-count study)
Cumulative amount of TiO2, mean (SD), milligramsb | 4365 (9946) | 4275 (9800) | 4365 (9946) | 4270 (9783)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
eye, brain and other CNS cancer risk, non-linearity
increases, p = 0.03
There was a non-linear association between increasing cumulative number of TiO2-containing tablets and eye, brain and other parts of the central nervous system cancer risk (plinearity = 0.03)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
lymphoid, hematopoietic and related tissue cancer risk
no effect
lymphoid, hematopoietic and related tissue (RR per 1000 tablet increment: 0.97, 95% CI: 0.95-1.00; per 10,000 mg: 0.99, 95% CI: 0.96–1.02) cancers
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
lymphoid, hematopoietic and related tissue cancer risk
decreases
lymphoid, hematopoietic and related tissue (RR per 1000 tablet increment: 0.97, 95% CI: 0.95-1.00; per 10,000 mg: 0.99, 95% CI: 0.96–1.02) cancers
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
ovarian cancer risk
increases
except for ovarian cancer for which there was some suggestion of linearly increased risk with increasing exposure amount (RR per 1000 tablet increment: 1.05, 95% CI: 0.97–1.14; per 10,000 mg: 1.10, 95% CI:1.00-1.22)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
ovarian cancer risk
no effect
except for ovarian cancer for which there was some suggestion of linearly increased risk with increasing exposure amount (RR per 1000 tablet increment: 1.05, 95% CI: 0.97–1.14; per 10,000 mg: 1.10, 95% CI:1.00-1.22)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
overall cancer incidence (ICD-10 C and D0 codes) per 1000 TiO2-containing tablets and per 10,000 mg cumulative TiO2 from metformin and acebutolol tablets, nested case-control, 5-year lag
RR 1.00 (95% CI 0.99-1.01) for both exposure metrics
Not recorded as a finding: this platform holds no node for the endpoint
The RRs of overall cancer per 1000 TiO2-containing tablets and per 10,000 mg of TiO2 increments were both 1.00 (95% CI: 0.99–1.01).
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
overall cancer incidence, incidence rate ratio per 1000 TiO2-containing tablets and per 10,000 mg TiO2 ingested via metformin and acebutolol, nested case-control, 5-year lag
RR 1.00 (95% CI 0.99-1.01) per 1000 tablets and per 10,000 mg
Not recorded as a finding: this platform holds no node for the endpoint
The RRs of overall cancer per 1000 TiO2-containing tablets and per 10,000 mg of TiO2 increments were both 1.00 (95% CI: 0.99–1.01).
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
overall cancer risk
no effect
The RRs of overall cancer per 1000 TiO2-containing tablets and per 10,000 mg of TiO2 increments were both 1.00 (95% CI: 0.99–1.01)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
overall cancer risk
no effect
The RRs of overall cancer per 1000 TiO2-containing tablets and per 10,000 mg of TiO2 increments were both 1.00 (95% CI: 0.99–1.01)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
pancreatic cancer and melanoma risk, non-linearity
unclear, p = 0.02
Non-linear associations were apparent for pancreatic cancer and melanoma (plinearity = 0.02 for TiO2 cumulative dose as the exposure metric)
PMID:40601245 · one of two readings recorded this
Sources cited
1 paper
- Subject
- titanium dioxide
- Findings
- 3
- Papers
- 1
Other names
7 names
Resolves to: titanium dioxide
- Also called
- [TiO2]E 171TiO2titaniaTitanium oxide
- Systematic name
- bis(oxido)titaniumtitanium(IV) oxide